Delisting of 86 nonexistent political parties and the designation of 253 as "inactive": Election Commission

Fill in some text

Election Commission of India (ECI) said today that it had "delisted" 253 of the Registered Unrecognised Political Parties (RUPPs) and "declared" 86 of them as "inactive."

 339 non-compliant RUPPs that were targeted today brought the total number of such political parties that have defaulted on their obligations since May 25, 2022, to 537.

According to the ECI, every political party must immediately notify the poll panel of any changes to its name, head office, office holders,

Or address, including PAN number, as required by Section 29A of the Representation of the People Act.

According to the statement from the ECI, "a total of 86 RUPPs have been found to be non-existent either after a physical verification

conducted by the respective chief electoral officers of concerned states and Union territories (UTs)

or based on report of undelivered letters and notices from the postal authority sent to the registered address of the concerned RUPP."

The ECI delisted 87 and 111 RUPPs in the past through orders issued on May 25 and June 20, respectively.

According to reports from the chief electoral officers of seven states, including Bihar, Delhi, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, and Uttar Pradesh

 It was also noted that they had not responded to letters and notices sent to them and had not run in any elections